Site overview - Access levels and rights
February 27, 2015 9:36 AM - BoerumHillScott
There are several levels of access that a user can have on the site:

Not Logged in:
- See posts i public groups
- See comments and images in public groups (except limited pubic groups)
- See list of Private groups with open membership, but cannot see content

User: Everything above, plus:
- Create comments on posts in public groups, including uploading images, and edit those comments. (with exceptions, see below).
- Join private groups with open membership.
- Create new private groups
- Be invited to private groups with closed membership.
- See count of New Post in public groups and joined private groups.
- Create new posts in joined private groups.

Private groups only: Group Moderator Everything from User, plus:
- Edit and delete posts and comments in the group.
- Ban members from group (except group moderators and owner).
- Invite members to groups with closed membership.

Private groups only: Group Owner Everything from Group Moderator, plus:
- Edit name and description for the group.
- Lock posts and make "sticky" for the group.
- Add and remove Group Moderator status from group members
- Assign new owner to group.

Public groups only: Site Author Everything from User, plus:
- Create new posts in public groups

Note: the access levels below are not turned on by default, but must be switched on in order to be used

Public groups only: Site Editor (RowerChick) Everything from Site Author, plus:
- Edit and delete posts and comments in public groups:

Site Administrator (Partridge, Pepper, Snappy) Everything above, plus:
- Lock posts and make "sticky" in public groups.
- Create new public groups.
- Edit name and description for public groups.
- Ban users from public groups.
- Approve new user requests.
- Block and delete users from site.
- Change site configuration settings.
- See user logs, except for IP address.
- Assign and remove Site Editors and Site Authors.

Note: Admins run with Author privileges by default, and must turn on the higher privilege level

Site Owner (BoerumHillScott) Everything above, plus:
- Change fundamental behavior of site.
- Assign and remove Site Administrators.
- See IP address in logs.
- See raw files, logs, and database records.
- Undelete/un-edit items

Note: Site Owner runs with Author privileges by default, and must turn on the higher privilege level

Note on ability to edit own content:

In general, the user who creates a post/comment can edit it, but there are a number of cases where a post/comment can no longer be edited, including the post being locked, leaving or being banned from the group, or leaving or being blocked from the site.
Edited by BoerumHillScott at June 10, 2015 8:42 AM

1 comment
February 27, 2015 4:15 PM - Deleted
Edited at February 27, 2015 4:15 PM